Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Will my computer run Diablo 3 Beta?

Discussion in 'Diablo 3 Beta Forum' started by Tyranie, Sep 8, 2011. | Replies: 314 | Views: 111220

  1. Tyranie

    Tyranie IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Will my computer run Diablo 3 Beta?

    It seems that many threads are popping up with questions about minimum computer specs and if their computer will run the Beta. In order to keep things in a single location and to help others who might also have questions, I have created this thread. Here you can confirm your computer meets the minimum specs, learn how to upgrade your computer, and ask questions about parts for a new build. Do not forget that these specs are for BETA and could change for the full release.


    As for BETA specs:
    GPU List with what setting it should run

    Diablo III Beta System Requirements


    Please note that these system requirements are only for the Diablo III Beta, and are likely to change before the retail release.

    MINIMUM SYSTEM SPECIFICATIONS


    PC
    OS: Windows® XP/Windows Vista®/Windows® 7 (Latest Service Packs) with DirectX® 9.0c
    Processor: Intel Pentium® D 2.8 GHz or AMD AthlonTM 64 X2 4400+
    Video: NVIDIA® GeForce® 7800 GT or ATI Radeon™ X1950 Pro or better

    Mac
    OS: Mac® OS X 10.6.8 or newer | Processor: Intel® Core 2 Duo
    Video: NVIDIA® GeForce® 8600M GT or ATI Radeon™ HD 2600 or better

    All Platforms
    HD Space: 12 GB available HD space | Memory: 1 GB RAM (1.5 GB required for Windows Vista®/
    Windows® 7 users, 2 GB for Mac® users) | Drive: DVD-ROM drive | Internet: Broadband Internet
    connection | Display: 1024x768 minimum display resolution

    (Note: Be advised that some wireless connections do not meet the minimums required to be a true Broadband Internet connecton. Wireless results may vary.)


    RECOMMENDED SYSTEM SPECIFICATIONS


    PC
    OS: Windows Vista®/Windows® 7 (Latest Service Packs) | Processor: Intel® Core 2 Duo 2.4 GHz
    or AMD AthlonTM 64 X2 5600+ 2.8 GHz | Memory: 2 GB RAM | Video: NVIDIA® GeForce® 260 or
    ATI Radeon™ HD 4870 or better

    Mac
    OS: Mac® OS X 10.7 or newer | Processor: Intel® Core 2 Duo | Memory: 2 GB RAM
    Video: NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 330M or ATI Radeon™ HD 4670 or better
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2011
  2. mortuus

    mortuus Diablo: IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Re: Will my coputer run Diablo 3 Q&A

    I would say if u can play starcraft 2 decent then diablo3 should run just as good.
  3. Dahmer

    Dahmer IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    121
  4. Tyranie

    Tyranie IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Re: Will my coputer run Diablo 3 Q&A

    So far this does not appear to be true as GPUs that will play SC2 are currently not supported by Diablo 3. (people were unable to even install due to this). Not to say that this may not change though.

    Thanks Dahmer, going to add that to the main post


  5. Dacar92

    Dacar92 Community, Amazon, DH Moderator; Clan Officer West

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    10,261
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    470
    Re: Will my computer run Diablo 3 Q&A

    Good call. I was thinking about this last night but didn't get around to it. Let's also include the video card support and sticky it, too.

  6. Glycerine

    Glycerine IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: Will my computer run Diablo 3 Beta?

    Allright, since this thread is here to help us non-tech-savy people out, here goes. I'm not a hardcore gamer and I dont care about running the game at the max or anything, I just want it to run.
    My current setup:
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6400@2.16 GHz
    Mobo: BioStar G41D3
    Memory: 2 x 2GB DDR3 1066 MHz
    Graphics Card: GeForce 9500GT 1GB GDDR3 1600MHz 128bit
    OS: Windows XP Professional SP3 x64
    Monitor: 24" HiSense TV 1080p
    Audio: OnBoard Realtek HD

    Think that about covers it. I'm not an avid gamer, I just want to be able to have D3 run well enough for me to play it occassionally without me having to invest $1000 in a new setup. Any opinions on how well it would run on my setup would be appreciated.

    Edit: I was looking through the list of graphics cards and while my 9500gt is marked 'low', the 9500gs which only has 128-512Mb of ddr2 ram is marked 'medium'. This makes no sense to me. Perhaps the 9500GT that they tested was a worse one than the one I have. Also did a search in some forums and most of them say that the gs is worse than the gt. :S
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2011
  7. manabanana

    manabanana IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: Will my computer run Diablo 3 Beta?

    Im glad you made this thread, here is my new build im looking at.

    Its a used rig on criagslist about 45mins away from me:

    Custom PC 3.3ghz 8GB ram 1TB hdd Windows 7 Ultimate - $700

    Great gaming or everyday use pc. Extremely fast and less than three months old. Selling because I need to pay some bills. The front fan LED doesn't work but it wont impact performance or anything. 1TB hard drive, 8 gb ram, and 3.3 ghz six core amd processor.Looking for 800 o.b.o

    Case: Cooler Master HAF X
    Processor: AMD Phenom II 1100t Black Edition-six core
    Motherboard: Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5
    Ram: 8GB 7-7-7-21 G.Skill Ripjaws Gaming Series
    GPU: XFX Radeon HD 6950 1GB
    PSU: Cooler Master GX 750W
    HDD: Western Digital 1TB 7200rpm
    DVD: Asus DVD-RW
    Napoleon Total War, TES Oblivion, ARMA 2 Combined Operations, laser mouse and keyboard if wanted.

    Im going to low ball him at 600 picked up.

    Sound like a good deal? Im basically buying this ONLY for diablo3, but will use it for photoshop and school work.

    Thanks, Travis
  8. Tyranie

    Tyranie IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Re: Will my computer run Diablo 3 Beta?

    @ Glycerine You will be able to play it on low settings. A easy upgrade would be a new gpu.
  9. Tyranie

    Tyranie IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Re: Will my computer run Diablo 3 Beta?

    Sounds like a good deal. Just make sure its a legitimate copy of windows. Here is a price break down from newegg.

    CPU: $190
    GPU 6950: $239
    Motherboard: $175
    Ram: $50
    Dvd driver: $15
    HD: $55
    PSU: $100
    Case: $190

    Total: $1014

    So if you wanted to buy that all new you would pay over $1k for it. Thats not even including the $150 for windows or the extras he is throwing in. So yea thats a good deal as long as it is all in good shape.


  10. RiddleOfSteel

    RiddleOfSteel IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Re: Will my computer run Diablo 3 Beta?

    My current system: (about 5 years old and the stuff was about a year old then..)

    *AMD Athlon 64 x2 Dual Core 6400+ @3.2Ghz
    *2 Gigs Ram
    *Nvidia GeForce 8800 GT

    I ran the SC2 beta just fine at "High" settings. I am sure that I will be happy with "Mid" settings for Diablo 3 until I can afford a new laptop. Newegg has some pretty nice Asus laptops for about a grand that will smoke D3 and most of the games that are out now on "Ultra" settings. Hurray for tax returns! At least running and getting used to seeing D3 on "Mid" settings gives me something to look forward to when I do get my new laptop...I will then get to see it on "High". Should be sweet.

    At most I will upgrade this systems video card to like a Nvidia 540 or 560...only spending about 200 bucks to "max" this system out but I would rather just put my money into a new laptop.


    I do have a good question though.
    Is the physics engine in D3 software or hardware based?
    In other words, do you require one of those "physics cards" to get the effects or is it running something like "Havok"?

    Anyone know?
  11. Tyranie

    Tyranie IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Re: Will my computer run Diablo 3 Beta?

    I am pretty sure that is all handled by the GPU now. Physic cards really never took off and most games have the CPU calculate some of the physics. So I guess the answer to your question is no, your not going to need one of those cards.
  12. manabanana

    manabanana IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: Will my computer run Diablo 3 Beta?

    Yea I just talked to the guy, he is cool with $600 but I don't think it has a legit version if windows, because he said he can load either 32 bit or 64 bit version if windows 7.

    So I'm really only gaming on this, am I going to be flagged or have problems with the cracked OS?

    Thanks Travis


  13. ael

    ael IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Re: Will my computer run Diablo 3 Beta?

    No.

    But well it is illegal.. AND there's a decent chance of getting your PC infected with any cracked stuff.
  14. Tyranie

    Tyranie IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Re: Will my computer run Diablo 3 Beta?

    In all honesty I would not worry about it. If you really want a legit copy then go buy one. But if he is a student then his copy of win 7 includes 32 and 64 bit usually.
  15. manabanana

    manabanana IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: Will my computer run Diablo 3 Beta?

    Thanks guys, I got the pc for $690 with 19" lcd, laser mouse, and gaming keyboard :D

    I think i got a good deal!

    picking it up on sunday!

    Thanks fellas
  16. Xadan

    Xadan IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Re: Will my computer run Diablo 3 Beta?

    Whats the difference between NVIDIA® GeForce® 7800 GT or ATI Radeon™ X1950 Pro and AMD Radeon HD 6450 GDDR5 1 GB? (Which is better?)
  17. Tilitoon

    Tilitoon IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Re: Will my computer run Diablo 3 Beta?

    The game will be playable at low settings. The GT is indeed better than the GS, this is the performance in ascending order : GS, GT, GTS, and GTX (and also Ultra). The "Diablo 3 Supported Video Cards" is indeed far from perfect.


    The physic engine for Diablo 3 is an "in-house" engine. It does NOT require PhysX and will primarily run off the CPU so you won't have any benefits from PhysX or any other GPU bound physic technology.


  18. Xadan

    Xadan IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Re: Will my computer run Diablo 3 Beta?

    Does anything think when Diablo 3 comes out the system requirements will drop alittle?
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2011
  19. Axamas

    Axamas IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Re: Will my computer run Diablo 3 Beta?

    Hi

    All these cards are rated "low" on Blizzard's list.

    On G3D mark benchmark, they are rated as follow :
    HD 6450 - 371
    7800 GT - 525
    X1950 GT - 763
    X1950 Pro - 826

    So far, the X1950 Pro seems to be the best one.

    Hope this helps you.


  20. Dahmer

    Dahmer IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    121
    Re: Will my computer run Diablo 3 Beta?

    Possible but at this stage I wouldn't count on it.

    @Axamas :
    And the reason why that new (HD 6450) card ranks so low is because it's not a videocard aimed at gaming. It's great for video playback though and especially for an htpc with the low profile brackets.

    @Tilitoon :
    Yeah, it doesn't look perfect at all and my guess is that those results are from beta testers with several of them having overclocked gpu and/or cpu changing results quite a bit. A card running ok at low could potentially work with medium settings after a good overclock.



Share This Page