Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Why the RMAH will fail and how to fix it!

Discussion in 'Diablo 3 Market & Economy Discussion Forum' started by Magisk, May 3, 2012. | Replies: 24 | Views: 2601

1. Magisk

Magisk IncGamers Member

Why the RMAH will fail and how to fix it!

First post, decided to make it count :)

When I first heard about the RMAH I was thrilled! There is something about having a real economy within a game that really appeals to me, it creates all these possibilities and if done correctly "a game within a game"

Before I move on I need to say for reference that im a professional poker player and an exDiablo2 player, so I feel like when these two things in a way come together I should have some idea of whats going on. You might say poker doesn't have anything to do with the RMAH in Diablo, but it does. Its a game about money, where your decision is based on "is this profitable or not" and now when Diablo has the real cash thing as well, the same thing applies there. Some people wont take it that seriously but enough people will so that it will affect your gameplay regardless, and unfortunately in a mostly negative way.

So the main problem we all have been focusing on is how will the economy behave and will item prices decrease a lot or remain at an acceptable level.

There are some arguments for it working such as:

-There are a lot of cash sinks, taking gold out of the economy
    -The best items drop very rarely, making the demand always higher than the supply

However, to me its evident those things wont matter as the arguments against are:

-There will be way more people willing to sell rather than buy, maybe not the first month but as time goes definitively. Like, even though its a great game the interest will fade, thats just how it is. This brings me to my next point.