Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

What is this?

Discussion in 'Theorycrafting and Statistics' started by zaphodbrx, Mar 9, 2012. | Replies: 11 | Views: 1191

1. zaphodbrx

zaphodbrx IncGamers Member

What is this?

Today, I was playing my sorc, and I got hit by something I've never seen before

[​IMG]

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

What is this?
    It seems to do tremendous amounts of damage, even in normal mode? Though to be honest I am kinda liking being afraid of something in the normal mode, as otherwise even on p8 I am pwning everything.
    Items are twink gear, SOVM, frostburns, peasant crown, razorswitch etc.

I've been playing for > 6 months, not seen anything like this before..
  2. Kimppi

Kimppi IncGamers Member

Re: What is this?

It's Blood Mana curse. Succubi, Stygian Furies and Baal will cast it if you have as much or more Mana than Health. It will cause you to take as much damage as the spell you cast costs Mana.
  3. krischan

krischan Europe Trade Moderator

Baal casts it, too IIRC.
  4. Black Lotus

Black Lotus IncGamers Member

Oh my.. Normally, having more health than mana prevents you from getting this curse, I havent seen this curse since patch 1.09, and thats a LONG time. Baal casts this indeed.
    As it causes you to "pay" health for your spells, try not to invest too much in energy and get some +health gear.
  5. zaphodbrx

Ok got it. I took off the frostburns and it seemed to solve the problem.
    I didn't put any points in energy ( whoever does ?). All the mana is from gear, can't get enough of it,even with insight.

The weird thing is I'm sure there must have been situations before where life < mana, but I just haven't seen that. Perhaps it has to do with max life vs max mana? But then I noticed that even when max life < max mana, they cast defense lowering curse if my current health was > mana.