Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates

The Legitimately Self-found Barbarian Guide

Discussion in 'Barbarian' started by Nagafen, Nov 4, 2012. | Replies: 18 | Views: 9437

1. Nagafen

Nagafen IncGamers Member

When Diablo III launched, I was sorely disappointed. It's a fairly widely-held opinion that the game was underwhelming at launch, and like so many others, I left within the first month. When patch 1.0.4 came out, I got interested again and came back to check it out. Seeing potential in the game now, I started playing again just before patch 1.0.5, and suddenly this previously awful game was decent. Many of the original problems were ironed out, the gameplay was more enjoyable, and I actually felt like playing D3 again. However, one problem remained: the (RM)AH. I always felt like this was such a blemish on the game, to the extent where I felt no joy in playing because the whole experience was tainted by the AH. Instead, when I returned, I decided to play self-found. I now play D3 as though it was the single-player game that Blizzard wouldn't give us.

Now, this requires a different approach. When played like this, Inferno is incredibly difficult. It takes a lot of work and preparation to farm even A3 MP0 with any kind of efficiency, and you can't always trust the various builds and guides on the web. Here follows a guide and a build for playing a self-found barbarian. I personally went all-out legit, starting from zero and refraining from using any crafting recipes I hadn't found with that character.

The first thing to keep in mind is that you can never count on having anything. You can never expect to have lifesteal, you can never rely on a certain set item or access to a crafting recipe that isn't baseline. Accept that 'star' is probably the highest quality of gem you'll ever own, prepare to play without lifesteal gear, know that you won't be grinding 50mil exp per hour for quite some time, and get ready for a serious challenge.