Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Spirit Runeword

Discussion in 'Single Player Forum' started by scwormy, Feb 21, 2006. | Replies: 24 | Views: 1790

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. scwormy

    scwormy IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    144
    Spirit Runeword

    I'm having some problems (and yes, I've searched) and didn't see anything.

    I have the 1.11 RWM installed and for some reason I can't get the Spirit runeword to work.

    My necro's merc is using Obedience, so I know the mod is working, but when my Sorc tried making Spirit it just comes up with Gemmed Monarch.

    Anyone else experienced problems with this runeword?

    The runeword is still "TalThulOrtAmn" right?

    Edit - There is a possiblity that I used a 1.10 shield (would that have anything to do with it)?

    Thanks
  2. EnerSense

    EnerSense IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Make sure the monarch is gray (non-magical) or at least the title of the monarch shield. If the title is blue, green, yellow, orange or gold it won't work.

    -ES
  3. Shagsbeard

    Shagsbeard IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3,036
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    466
    I don't think anything but a regular socketable could have four sockets. The 1.10 shouldn't matter a lick.

    From the Arreat Summit:

    Spirit 4 Socket Swords/Shields Tal + Thul + Ort + Amn

    So that's not it either.

    Got me stumped... Have you tried any of the other runewords to see if they work? Are you starting your game from the shortcut rather than the start menu (if you bypass the shortcut you wont activate the RWM)? Are you absolutely sure you placed them in the sheild in that order?

    Show us what ATMA reports for the shield and that might be a help.

    ED: It wouldn't come up with "gemmed monarch" in the game, it would simply call it TalThulOrtAmn without a rune word above it.
  4. Milb

    Milb IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    A magic Monarch could have 4 sockets with the Jeweller's prefix if I recall correctly.

    Please post a screenie or an ATMA readout, will probably be the easiest way to find out whats wrong :smiley:
  5. Feceset

    Feceset IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Gemmed War Axe
    'TirTirTirTirTirTir'

    The only thing I'd say is make sure you're running the RWM.
  6. Shagsbeard

    Shagsbeard IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3,036
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    466
    jeweler's would give it four sockets... that's my bet. I bet it's blue.
  7. ComeOutAndPlay

    ComeOutAndPlay Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    He said it comes up with Gemmed Monarch...so it isnt a blue, its gray.

    My bet is he forgot to run through the shortcut
  8. salvo

    salvo IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    2,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    recreate the shortcut (make a new one), I had the same problem too
  9. scwormy

    scwormy IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    144
    I have made two screenshots (one of the Gemmed Monarch) - yes its grey.
    and one the same characters merc utilizing the obedience runeword in ATMA.

    The only problem is I don't have a site so I can post the screenshots.

    And like I said, I know the shortcut works because the same character has one working runeword and one not working runeword.

    If anyone has a site, I'll email you the jpgs.

    Thanks again, sorry for the hastle.
  10. Hamburger

    Hamburger IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
  11. scwormy

    scwormy IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    144
    Here is the ATMA readout.

    58: Gemmed Monarch
    'TalThulOrtAmn'
    Defense: 140
    Chance to Block: 42%
    Durability: 85 of 86
    Required Strength: 156
    Required Level: 54
    Item Version: 1.10 Expansion
    Item Level: 84
    Fingerprint: 0xed988ec5
    Lightning Resist +35%
    Cold Resist +35%
    Poison Resist +35%
    Attacker Takes Damage of 14
    Socketed (4: 4 used)

    Tal Rune
    Inserted into a Monarch

    Poison Resist +35%

    Required Level: 17
    Item Version: 1.10 Expansion

    Thul Rune
    Inserted into a Monarch

    Cold Resist +35%

    Required Level: 23
    Item Version: 1.10 Expansion

    Ort Rune
    Inserted into a Monarch

    Lightning Resist +35%

    Required Level: 21
    Item Version: 1.10 Expansion

    Amn Rune
    Inserted into a Monarch

    Attacker Takes Damage of 14

    Here is a screenshot of the shield from ATMA
    http://img145.imageshack.us/my.php?image=monarch0uz.jpg
    (Thanks Hamburger)

    Here is a screenshot from the Game
    http://img117.imageshack.us/my.php?image=monarch9hl.jpg

    Here is a screenshot of the same character using another runeword
    http://img119.imageshack.us/my.php?image=mercs3hn.jpg
  12. Jesterrm

    Jesterrm IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Huh, that's odd...I made a "spirit" for my tesladin (just fooling around since it was so cheap), and in ATMA it shows up as "spirit" even if I wasn't running the RWM. So did the "edge" bow i made as well (i.e. they both have the runeword info in ATMA even if they don't in-game). I wonder why your ATMA isn't seeing it correctly? Maybe you should try reinstalling ATMA or updating it and see what happens?
  13. scwormy

    scwormy IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    144
    ATMA reads my obedience. They're the only two runewords that I have any interest in making from 1.11 that I can afford.
  14. Cattleya

    Cattleya IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    4,241
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    346
    The way that the flags are set up for the realm-only ladder runewords in 1.11 is that you cannot make them in a Vanilla SP game. However, once the runeword has been made in a RWM game, Vanilla SP recognizes it, and it works normally. The server-only flag is only for making the runeword, not recognizing the runeword.

    So, even if you accidentally used a Vanilla shortcut when making the Spirit, any RWM items would still show up normally. Only the RWM runeword you tried to make in that game would fail.
  15. scwormy

    scwormy IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    144
    Ahh...there is that distinct possibility.

    I still have the regular link on my desktop and I may not have been overly concerned about which one I utilized when I created it.

    Thanks Cattleya


    Edit - Nope, I just tried making another one (now I don't have any more monarch shields) :( and it still didn't work. This time I was sure that I was using the correct shortcut.

    If the game recognizes the 1.11 Runewords, making a new runeword in that same game should be ok right? I reformated my computer a few weeks ago, and this is the first runeword I've made since I recopied the mod onto my computer. I figured the mod had been copied properly since the Obedience RW showed up properly when the game was loaded.

    Any additional recommendations?
  16. SkaMan

    SkaMan IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Hel + TP + Gemmed monarch in cube = clean monarch :) It will destroy the spirit runes, but they're common enough anyways.
  17. Hamburger

    Hamburger IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Well.....
    I think you installed the wrong mod :p, maybe RRM instead of RWM.
    Try re-installing the mod, should work....

    And that you see the runewords properly doesn't mean anything-it's like Cattleya, say.
    I, for one, remember when Pucho showed me his "Obedience" weapon, and I was still a vanilla player, and I saw it correctly...
    So.....
    Just reinstall, and try some cheaper recipe to check!
  18. crazy_bear

    crazy_bear IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120

    Well, I'd have to say from your description that either your installation is incorrect or your shortcut is incorrect. As Cat said, even if the RWM isn't installed the vanilla game will still correctly recognize a RWM item that was previously created.

    One thing I noticed is that when I started the game from anything other than the shortcut Windows seemed to 'auto update' my shortcut not to have the correct options in the shortcut anymore. So I would start by deleting the old shortcut and making a new one with the correct changes, and seeing if you can make an 'edge' If that doesn't work, then try reinstalling the RWM (remember there is a link in the 1.11 thread by Cattleya)
  19. Tracul

    Tracul IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,521
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Saw this thread and decided to post since i am having similar probs (or not?). Made the Spirit runeword in a AKARAN TARGE and it came out Gemmed. Installed RWM properly and used teh RWM shortcut to make the RW.
    If someone could just tell me that it doesnt work in an akaran targe, then i will slap myself and get on with life...but if it does, whats up?
  20. nebux

    nebux IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,461
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    tecnical discussion about mods here aren't alowed even if the mods are RRM and RWM
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page