Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Post your D3 system specs.

Discussion in 'Tech Support for Diablo 3, Battle.Net & Systems' started by Austiin, May 4, 2012. | Replies: 80 | Views: 6255

  1. Austiin

    Austiin Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Post your D3 system specs.

    Mine are simple but will do. I want to get an even better system but want to see how this one does first. It runs WoW and SC2 on max settings with good gameplay so I'm thinking D3 will run just fine. All the same, I worry about only having 4 gigs. I really want more.



    Windows 7 Home Premium
    AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1055T Processor
    4.00GB
    ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
    64-bit Operating Sytem
    Samsung LED Wide Screen SyncMaster PX2370
    Use big bass stereo as sound for PC+Panasonic 55 inch Plasma which is hooked up directly to PC via HDMI


    I guess I could always go buy more ram if the video card suffices which I think it will.
    Last edited: May 4, 2012
  2. Tryzx

    Tryzx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Re: Post your D3 system specs.

    Here's my system on my desktop:

    Windows 7 Home Premium
    64 bit OS
    8.00GB Ram
    Intel Core I5 2500 3.3Hz with Sandy Bridge
    GeForce GTX560
    SSD Flash Drive
    20" WideScreen LED Backlit LCD Monitor
    Siberia V2 Headphones

    It runned the beta perfectly on high settings.

  3. Tilitoon

    Tilitoon IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Re: Post your D3 system specs.

    Yea you'll be fine, the Radeon HD 5750 can run the game maxed out so if you have that or the 5770 it's all good. 4GB is enough for DIII, the game is 32 bit so even if you have 8GB you won't really get much more out of it.
  4. Austiin

    Austiin Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Post your D3 system specs.

    Nice and yeah I think it should do. More ram is always better though. Ram and video card are what I've found matter the most along with ample system cooling.

    Honestly internal system cooling is the most underrated thing in PC gaming. Future PC's will probably resemble refrigerators internally.
  5. Sky Tan

    Sky Tan IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Re: Post your D3 system specs.

    I7 870(2.93)
    4gb ram
    Win7 (64)
    GTX 460
    19" LCD

    :( only managed medium
  6. gruenel

    gruenel IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Re: Post your D3 system specs.

    If that rig only manages to run D3 on medium settings then something is SERIOUSLY wrong.


  7. Tilitoon

    Tilitoon IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Re: Post your D3 system specs.

    Yea you should easily run DIII maxed out balls to the wall with that config.


  8. Sky Tan

    Sky Tan IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Re: Post your D3 system specs.

    hm...it was in open beta , kinda default there so i took it straight up, saw some of the shadows and stuff not maxed.
    Didnt wanna waste messing around with the configs, thought the program chose wat is optimal already.

    But one thing for sure is the resolution, monitor
    1440x 900
    So what is the minimum size to get max resolution? Any difference ? Bigger Viewable Area or neater graphics.?
  9. MrH

    MrH IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Re: Post your D3 system specs.

    i5 3570k @ 4.3GHz
    GTX 680
    8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    80GB Intel SSD
    1TB Spinpoint F3
    24" True HD Liyama Prolite
    Windows 7 64bit
  10. Tilitoon

    Tilitoon IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Re: Post your D3 system specs.

    The aspect ratio will change the viewable area, so if you have a wider monitor with a resolution of 1920x1080 you will see a bit more on the sides than 1440x900 (or 1920x1200). However there is a "letterbox" option in the game that will adjust the ratio and give you the wider areas even if your native resolution isn't 16:9 (it'll add black bars at the top/bottom). Also, the higher the resolution, the less pixelated it'll look. Obviously the difference will be less noticeable on smaller screens. We'd need to know your screen model number to tell you it's optimal resolution, but my guess is that 1440x 900 is actually the optimal resolution for your monitor. Try the highest one if there are on the list, you'll see if the image is distorted or if it looks better.


  11. stillman

    stillman IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    3,659
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    467
    Re: Post your D3 system specs.

    Hi. I will soon go to a store where they can put together a rig. I would like a PC that can handle D3 on max settings, and only D3. I won't use it for any other gaming. Can someone list the specs I should ask for and roughly how much it will cost (I live in Canada)? Thanks.
  12. jamesL

    jamesL IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    Re: Post your D3 system specs.

    currently, very old system, self built 3 1/2 years ago

    intel core 2 duo e7200 2.53 GHz
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115052

    EVGA GeForce 8800 GS
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130332

    8 GB ram
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231122

    19 inch monitor 1440x900
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824176077

    Gigabyte motherboard
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128337

    only played during the open beta
    played mostly 4 player games
    played No AA, shadows medium, don't remember other settings
    had zero problems

    do you have a monitor ?
    or will you be buying a new one ?

    so, D3 is the only game you will be playing.

    what else will you do with the computer ?

    Microsoft Excel ?
    hosting and live streaming video ?
    video editing ?
    what web browser do you use ?
    how many browser tabs do you usually have open ?


    Last edited: May 5, 2012
  13. stillman

    stillman IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    3,659
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    467
    Re: Post your D3 system specs.

    ^I have a roughly 5 year old acer LCD monitor; it has x223w in the top right corner. I'm not very computer savy, so let me know where to find its details if you need them. I don't plan on buying another monitor.

    I don't make videos, do live streaming, editing, excel, or anything like that. I just use google chrome to watch youtube videos, visit forums, and I do some writing with OpenOffice. I have at most 2-3 tabs open with a simple wiki page as one of them. D3 is the only game I will play, and its expansion. I'm wanting max settings on d3, though.

    Btw, do I need to be cautious about longevity or anything since they will be mostly used parts thrown together? Am I saving a good % of money, or should I just buy a new machine from The Source?
  14. RazeBarb

    RazeBarb IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Re: Post your D3 system specs.

    The relevant specs:

    i5 2500k @ 3.3GHz
    Radeon 6950HD
    8GB RAM 1600Mhz
    21.5 LED Widescreen @ 1920x1080
  15. stillman

    stillman IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    3,659
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    467
    Re: Post your D3 system specs.

    Wow, I need that much RAM? I'm fine with playing on the small monitor I have now (or is this even possible on max setting?) I'm mostly concerned with avoiding choppy animations when the screen is overloaded with baddies and Monkish light shows. I don't care about having the biggest screen unless its necessary performance-wise. I'll wait for JamesL's take.
  16. gruenel

    gruenel IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Re: Post your D3 system specs.

    i7-3820 / ASUS P9X79 Pro / 16GB RAM / Radeon HD 7950 / Samsung 830 SSD (128GB) / Dell U2412M

    Runs the game like a dream. Even though I built it for more demanding software than Diablo 3, that is probably going to be its main purpose after May, 15th :)
  17. The Magic

    The Magic IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    27
    Re: Post your D3 system specs.

    i5 2550k
    Asus P8Z68 MoBo
    8GB Corsair Vengeance RAM
    GTX 560 Ti
    24" Asus LED monitor 1920x1080
  18. SeanJennings

    SeanJennings IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: Post your D3 system specs.

    Lappytop
    Operating System:
    Windows 2.6.1.7600
    CPU Type:
    Intel® Core™ i5-2410M CPU
    CPU Speed:
    2.32 GHz
    System Memory:
    5.92 GB
    Video Card Model:
    Geforce 550m
    Desktop Resolution:
    1600x900
  19. Njeroe

    Njeroe IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Re: Post your D3 system specs.

    Looks like I represent here the low-budget:
    i3-2120 3.3Ghz
    8GB RAM
    GTX 560
    22" Asus monitor 1920x1080

    the beta run smoothly at max. settings
  20. Tilitoon

    Tilitoon IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Re: Post your D3 system specs.

    Since you are Canadian, may I suggest you shop at NCIX.com ? It's been my number 1 place for my computer related stuff for the last 7 years. Their prices are great, and you can even price match them, so you basically get the best possible prices in Canada. You can either select the parts and build it yourself or you can let them do it for you (for $50 they assemble, stress test / validate the build, install the OS).

    To answer your question about the RAM, no you don't need 8GB to be able to play DIII, however if you are building a new computer, it would be completely useless to save ~$5 and get half the memory, it's so cheap these days, 8GB is pretty much the standard for new systems, plus it'll be easier to upgrade later on, you could always throw in 2x4GB more in 3 years for very cheap if you need to.

    As for the parts, well, it depends on your budget, but a well rounded system good enough to play DIII @ max without any problems would be something like this :

    $240 Intel Core i5 3570K
    $30 Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus
    $120 MSI Z77A-G43 Motherboard
    $45 Mushkin Enhanced Blackline Frostbyte PC3-12800 8GB 2X4GB
    $150 XFX Radeon HD 6850 775MHZ 1GB 4.0GHZ GDDR5
    $100 Corsair Carbide Series 400R
    $95 Corsair Enthusiast Series TX650M 650W ATX Modular Power Supply
    $100 Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit

    Please note that you could build a system for cheaper than that and you would still be able to run DIII but for the price this is a very good starting point and you would get the performance + quality that go with it.







Share This Page