Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Penetrate useless with ITD and GA?

Discussion in 'Amazon' started by Hairless, Apr 1, 2012. | Replies: 7 | Views: 1595

1. Hairless

Hairless IncGamers Member

Penetrate useless with ITD and GA?

Hi,

I recently started playing again and have been having a good time strafing The Pits.

If I have ITD, and use Guided Arrow against bosses, then there is no point putting points into Penetrate, right?
  2. zaphodbrx

zaphodbrx IncGamers Member

Re: Penetrate useless with ITD and GA?

You won't always be using GA against bosses ( imo only act bosses are worthwhile to use them against ). But yes, if you're using a bow with ITD ( commonly faith ) then no need to level penetrate at all.

2nd thing: I'm not completely sure, but I think Windforce is better than faith for pvm. And WF doesn't have ITD.
  3. Fyourics

Fyourics IncGamers Member

Bosses also include champion, uniques and super-uniques, so I always end up putting points into penetrate, as I find guided arrow to be lack-luster in pvm. However, your way should work.
  4. Pyrotechnician

Pyrotechnician IncGamers Site Pal

As stated above, the only difficulty will be with chamions, uniques, and super-uniques as you will most likely be strafing them and itd doesn't work against them. Either way I usually have enough skill points to carry me with only putting one point in it. Not sure of your setup but you should be fine as long as you have decent AR.
  5. Hairless

I am thinking that uniques and super-uniques can be finished off with GA after strafing away their pack (unless merc hasn't dealt with them already). Champion packs would take longer.

Is the bonus damage from GA equivalent to adding off-weapon ED? So a level 21 GA adds 100% off-weapon ED and wouldn't do much more than a level 1 GA if you have 1000+% off-weapon ED already?