Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Loading from different save files

Discussion in 'Single Player Forum' started by Jossos, Feb 27, 2013. | Replies: 9 | Views: 667

  1. Jossos

    Jossos IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    Hi,

    I'm trying to make 2 exe's for diablo2, one for softcore, and 1 for hardcore. I'd just like one to link to the softcore save file, and one to the hardcore. I have these 2 files in the diablo II/save folder.

    Is this possible to do? perhaps some business with the exe?

    Any help is greatly appreciated. I don't want to cut/paste save files every time i play (ive lost a good char from this before)
  2. Thyiad

    Thyiad Moderator Single Player, D2 Assassin, Barbarian

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    14,881
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    467
    Why do you need different exe's?

    Usually I'd only have two exe's if I was running a RWM and vanilla installation.
  3. Jossos

    Jossos IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    I want each to load from a different save file. maybe it can be done another way that doesn't involve cutting and pasting.
  4. TheNix

    TheNix IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    3,076
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    350
    You could simply rename one save folder SCSave and the other HCSave and the one you want to play you change back to Save.
  5. zaphodbrx

    zaphodbrx IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,714
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    467
    This, why do you need two different exe's?
    Also for vanilla you can simply start DiabloII.exe instead of the RWM shortcut installed.

    There actually is a way to configure save file paths but that requires a mod that is not FAM. Mostly useful if you want to install a few different mods and keep their character files separate.
  6. Jossos

    Jossos IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    is there no way to manipulate the directory diablo gets the saves from? that's what i really want
  7. kestegs

    kestegs D3 Monk Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    47,524
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    257
    Couldn't this be done with trenshadow pretty easily?
  8. Jossos

    Jossos IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    so there's no way to do this via exe's?

    WAIT Im gonna copy my entire d2 folder and see if that works.
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2013
  9. Fabian

    Fabian IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,776
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    258
    You can do what you want with trenshadow, like kestegs says. The way easier solution is to have them both in the same directory, using only one shortcut, and clicking on the character you actually want to play each playing session, though.
  10. Jossos

    Jossos IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    Ok, i figured out how im supposed to do it. I need to add/edit some registry key thing for diablo 2, and i can link the exe to the save folder. Question is, how the hell do I add/edit registry keys and do this?

Share This Page