Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates

Lightning sorc in Hell - It's hell indeed

Discussion in 'Sorceress' started by Dagaz, Jan 9, 2013. | Replies: 17 | Views: 10980

1. Dagaz

Dagaz IncGamers Member

So, I've been playing Diablo 2 single player only since spring now and I've made a pretty good zeal paladin and WW barbarian (L90 and L86) with fury druid on the good way to end hell act V... I have some experience in playing bone necro etc. However I am having extreme difficulties playing lightning sorc.
    I know that there are n builds out there that do all the work for you, and yes, I've been experimenting a little, but still … I have no idea why y am having such difficulties on hell with my lightning sorc (L 86). I guess I'm missing something, but don't really know what.

Gear:
    Shako (I also have Griffon's Eye (+12/-19) but I find Shako much better)
    Skin of the Vipermagi (res24) (as backup for +all res I use Smoke)
    Lidless Wall (with P diamond)
    Magefist (upped)
    Tal's belt and amulet
    War Traveller
    2xSoJ
    The Oculus
    (+ one lightning GC; the only one I've made; I'm cursed with + Traps; today I've managed to made one for the third time in last month or so)

Stats:
    C. bolt, lightning, lightning mastery & blizzard maxed;
    static filed, telekinesis, teleport, cold armors, cold mastery, warmth - 1

Merc:
    act 2 defense (hell)
    Insight
    Duriel's Shell (upped from my early necro experiment)
    Vampire Gaze

As primary skill I use lightning with blizzard for lightning immune creatures. (Before I've respec I've used chain lightning as primary attack and things were even worse.)

___
    The main problem I find with my sorc is that I feel very uneasy playing it. She feels extremely fragile and it also takes forever to do some damage. Sure, I can run pits (lightning immune archers can be (and are) a problem), but to take on – for example – hell Meph, is playing with death and each run requires at least one return to town.