Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Level 30 Mauler Guide

Discussion in 'PvP' started by SmittySixTen, Nov 3, 2007. | Replies: 45 | Views: 30309

1. SmittySixTen

SmittySixTen IncGamers Member

Level 30 Mauler Guide

I’ve been meaning to write a LLD Mauler guide for quite a while now. Recently a lot of questions have come up (both directly to me and at a couple of forums I visit), so I figure now is just one of those times where I should buckle down and do it. Keep in mind this is my first attempt at a guide, and I didn’t realize how much I really wanted to say until I started to write it. If things seem jumbled or someone has suggestions let me know. I’m new at this.

I’m going to break the guide down into the following sections:

1) Background information – Basically where I prattle on about my experience with Maulers
    2) Stat point allocation
    3) Skill point distribution
    4) Breakpoints and other stats to shoot for
    5) Equipment
    6) What you can and cannot expect from this character

Background Info

I first started to play low level maulers in 1.09. Everything was completely different back then. First of all, 76legit was the standard for LLD chars. This meant that not every character was considered good manners at level 30. In fact, 29 was the highest a druid could go—thankfully, because Sheals always have been, and always will be the backbone of this build.

In .09 the main focus of a Mauler was on damage. The mantra was pump up your damage as high as it can go (without messing with those 6 Shaels in your weapon), and worry about everything else later. This was viable because leech was huge. Get yourself to 20 leech, and you were nearly unbeatable. You would do so much damage that you’d nearly heal yourself in one whack of the opponent, and a measly 2% mana leech would put you back at max mana.

Oh how times have changed…