Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

I'm hoping to get an Insight for a Merc.. some questions.. <

Discussion in 'Theorycrafting and Statistics' started by FatStupidIdiot, Aug 21, 2006. | Replies: 6 | Views: 544

1. FatStupidIdiot

FatStupidIdiot IncGamers Member

I'm hoping to get an Insight for a Merc.. some questions..

My hammerdin is lvl87 now and I think I could really benefit from an Insight on a Merc.

I guess I know RAL - TIR - TAL - SOL are the runes to make insight on a polearm so my questions are:

1) Which polearm do I use? And how do I go about getting a 4-socketed one? Which is best?
    2) Those runes aren't particularly rare I guess, huh? Should I just try to trade Pgems for them individually?

Sorry for the noob questions but.. I'm a noob!

Thanks everybody
  2. Lyrs

Lyrs IncGamers Member

Most people use an Elite 4 Socketed polearm:
    http://www.battle.net/diablo2exp/items/elite/polearms.shtml

Pick and choose. Each has its own benefits, but for most people, they tend to choose either a thresher, a cryptic axe, or a Greate Poleaxe. However, since Insight has no inherent IAS, it's best to choose a moderately faster weapon.

Myself, I use a Thresher. If you can find or cube an etheral 4os Thresher, that would also be really nice. You can find treshers and other elite polearms by killing monsters in areas such as the Pit in Tamoe Highlands. Make sure to wear as little MF as possible as MF affects your socketable drop rate.

As for the runes, you can trade for them with pgems. However, I prefer to simply kill the Countess from in Act1 Tower sicne she'll always drop a rune and chances are it'll be a low one, which you could cube or use.
  3. Frosty_The_Snowman

Frosty_The_Snowman IncGamers Member

There's several aspects to take into account here :