Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Does anyone know the answer to my inquiry...? (region locks) der=0

Discussion in 'Diablo 3 General Discussion' started by Fallen_62, Apr 26, 2012. | Replies: 18 | Views: 1106

  1. Fallen_62

    Fallen_62 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Does anyone know the answer to my inquiry...? (region locks)

    Hey all! Been a looooooooong time since I was on this site. Oh the gold old diabloii.net days ;) Anyway...

    Do we know for sure if players will be "region locked", so that if I have an NA copy of the game, I will not be able to play on the EU servers and vice versa? I know that there's some stuff about Aussie and SEA getting accounts on the NA servers, but I'm just curious about the NA/EU stuff right now. Does the RMAH prevent this from becoming a possibility? Do I have to buy an EU version of the game to play on their servers as well?

    Anyone know the answer to that question by chance? I did a quick search and didn't see much here, and all the searches I've done on the official site have presented me with info from August of last year, and want to know if any of it has changed...
  2. Arcanae

    Arcanae IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Re: Does anyone know the answer to my inquiry...? (region locks)

    The regions are completly open. In D3, regions are like servers in WoW, you can create chars in any region, and play and switch between them with no problems. The only restriction is that you can only use RMAH in the region where you bought the copy of the game, so if you buy NA copy you will only be able to use RMAH with that account. However, you can use GAH in any region, regardless of where you bought the game.
  3. TheFarxy

    TheFarxy IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    42
    Re: Does anyone know the answer to my inquiry...? (region locks)

    ok so, i´ll try and say what "ITHINK" still abit unclear rules ;-)


    1. ur diablo 3 copy is global - you can use it to play on any server.
    2. the RMAH is linked to ur battle.net account (so if ur country is in EU on the account, you will be locked to EU RMAH)
    3. you can still use gold AH on all servers.
    4. you cant lvl to 60 on EU server and use that in US server ect.

    servers that will open around the world 15th may is Asian,EU and US (there will NOT be NA server, you all will play on "1" server in US )

    russain might get there own servers, as they are geting in later iam not sure about that.
    korea is geting in 25th may i think (allso not sure about that)
  4. Fallen_62

    Fallen_62 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: Does anyone know the answer to my inquiry...? (region locks)

    Very nice, that's what I wanted to know. Thank you both very much!
  5. Apocalypse

    Apocalypse IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Re: Does anyone know the answer to my inquiry...? (region locks)

    wait so does this mean us players can play early? i thought the main page said we could not log onto eu servers?
  6. Arcanae

    Arcanae IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Re: Does anyone know the answer to my inquiry...? (region locks)

    @Apocalypse Yes, you can play at any server on launch day, regardless of where you live and buy the game. If you can suffer through it, you can play on Korean server 12-ish hours before US servers launch. However, I'd really only recommend it if you are fluent in Korean/Chinese (in both reading and writing) and have Korean or Chinese keyboard.

    Though, you would do much better to play on EU server few hours ahead of Europeans. I actually think that a lot of people in the US who are going for world firsts will play in odd servers, like European or even Chinese or Korean.
  7. snowieken

    snowieken <img src="http://forums.diabloii.net/images/pal.gi

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Re: Does anyone know the answer to my inquiry...? (region locks)

    On an added note, you can have more than 10 characters per account this way: 10 on each server. They will however not be linked in any way, no shared stash/gold/artisan/...
  8. Arcanae

    Arcanae IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Re: Does anyone know the answer to my inquiry...? (region locks)

    Yeah, with ten chars per server and four servers total (North American, European, Chinese, Korean/Taiwanese), you will be able to have up to 40 chars per account. However, that's only theoretically, I doubt anyone on from Europe or North America will roll 10 chars on Korean or Chinese server. So, you effectively have 20 characters per account. Which is really little actually, I have way more then 20 builds planned, and I fully expect to have 20 Clvl. 60s about half a year after realese.

    On a related note, I could be mistaken, but I think they said they will add South American and Southeast Asian servers, though I could be wrong, of course.

    Also, another thing is, your servers are further split between hardcore and softcore. Softcore characters will have their artisans, gold and shared stash, as well as GAH and RMAH. And the hardcores will have theirs (except for RMAH, that is).
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2012
  9. Crono

    Crono IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Re: Does anyone know the answer to my inquiry...? (region locks)

    South American servers would be sooooo awesome, my best ping to US is around 200 ms :( (although in the beta I didn't notice problems, only a few hits from mobs a bit further)
  10. Arcanae

    Arcanae IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Re: Does anyone know the answer to my inquiry...? (region locks)

    Yes, I'm sure it would increase the popularity of the game in South America. I know a blue once said something about that, but that was quite a while ago, I believe even before the beta, that I am no longer sure is that info still valid.
  11. galzohar

    galzohar IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: Does anyone know the answer to my inquiry...? (region locks)

    #2 is not yet confirmed, as specifically said by Blizzard's tech support. They have yet to announce how RMAH or any related restrictions will actually work in release. While they did hint something in the form of #2 in the past, it was a long time ago, and again not confirmed at all.
  12. Arcanae

    Arcanae IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Re: Does anyone know the answer to my inquiry...? (region locks)

    I'm sorry, but I don't quite understand what you mean by #2. Do you mean that my post is incorrect? And if so, which part, As far as I know, everything I said/wrote there is accurate. Accounts are global, regions work similiarly to servers in MMOs, GAH is available to anyone who has char in that region and the RMAH is restricted to the region you bought the game in. Did they change something? I don't think they did because I'm sure I would have seen the changes somewhere.
  13. Eagle

    Eagle IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Re: Does anyone know the answer to my inquiry...? (region locks)

    I don't believe that where you bought the game is relevant. I believe the relevant detail is your location as specified in your Battle.Net account. Though there has been no specific information I've seen from Blizzard verifying either possibility.

    However, Bashiok said on Twitter:

    The digital pre-order will unlock at your region's midnight launch time. Unlock, install, download day one patch, play.


    This suggests that any region restrictions are determined by account region.

    You are restricted by region for the RMAH. Again, I assume this means your account region, nothing else would really make sense.

    I also think I saw something that said the Chinese servers are an exception to Global play and are isolated from the rest of the servers, which makes sense given the censorship issues that exist for China. However I can't find it so I might be remembering incorrectly.
  14. snowieken

    snowieken <img src="http://forums.diabloii.net/images/pal.gi

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Re: Does anyone know the answer to my inquiry...? (region locks)

    Haven't seen that confirmed, but you're probably correct. There is also a separate WoW version for China.



  15. galzohar

    galzohar IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: Does anyone know the answer to my inquiry...? (region locks)

    By #2 I meant RMAH restrictions. We all assume it's based on your account region (the one that determines what price you see when you try to digitally pre-order the game) because it's what makes most sense and was sort of hinted in the past, but it hadn't been officially confirmed anywhere.

    Same for the Chinese (and Korean?) separation - Hinted and likely, but not officially confirmed!
  16. Fallen_62

    Fallen_62 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: Does anyone know the answer to my inquiry...? (region locks)

    So, reading that makes me think that NA players won't be able to get in on the EU midnight launch, right?

    edit:
    Because of exchange rates and other laws, I don't think you will be able to use the RMAH outside of your "home" region.



  17. Eagle

    Eagle IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Re: Does anyone know the answer to my inquiry...? (region locks)

    That's the way I read it. If they didn't do that then the EU servers would get slammed by people from around the world when they went online,rather than just by Europeans.


  18. Flux

    Flux Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    5,570
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    469
    Re: Does anyone know the answer to my inquiry...? (region locks)

    I remain unclear on this. I think you are free to connect to any server you like and create an account there, though Bliz has never explicitly confirmed this, though people have repeatedly asked Bashiok and others about it.

    The problem on launch night is that you won't have a copy of the game yet. If you were in the US and somehow had a physical copy of the game, presumably you could install it and connect to the EU servers and play before midnight on your local time. But the bliz store won't give you the digital copy before your local server is live.

    I've wondered if this could be worked around with a friend in the EU. Like, can Elly in the UK buy an extra copy and I can use the CDKEY from it to connect from the US and get a 10 hour head start? Or can a player in the EU buy a digital copy, set it up on a battle.net account, and then give their US friend access to that account? Would you be able to download the client from that account, even if you weren't in that region? Or can a player in the US buy their digital copy from the EU site? There's a link to do so, anyway.

    http://eu.blizzard.com/en-gb/games/d3/



  19. Fallen_62

    Fallen_62 IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    Re: Does anyone know the answer to my inquiry...? (region locks)

    Holy crap, hey Flux. Long time no see ;) But yea, I didn't think about it like you phrased it in your first paragraph. If they don't allow us to unpack/install the digital copies we have before our region's time, we'd have to play around with trying to get it working to play at the EU times.

    You can always have Elly and Paul try to get you a copy and see what happens ;)



Share This Page