Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Support the site! Become a Diablo: IncGamers PAL - Remove ads and more!

Advice on new laptop for Diablo LoD

Discussion in 'Diablo 2 Community Forum' started by Mislan, Mar 3, 2013. | Replies: 9 | Views: 1165

  1. Mislan

    Mislan IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi everyone,

    Sadly my trusty Apple Powerbook, which has served me well for many years has given up the ghost.

    I welcome any advice on selecting a new Windows-based laptop that I can use to play Diablo LoD.

    Can anyone advise on what I should be looking for in terms of memory, graphics, etc., as well as any issues encountered with Windows 8?

    Thanks,
    Mislan
  2. c64flash

    c64flash IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    LoD is 12 years old. Any new laptop will do. It runs under windows 7, not so sure about 8. I will et my new laptop with windows 8 this week and will test if it works.
  3. Mislan

    Mislan IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks, for the info -- please let me know how things work out with Windows 8.

    --Mislan
  4. Fizoo

    Fizoo IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    124
    I bought my new laptop with win 7 several months ago, just before win 8. Runs fine on 7, very speeding menu switching actually when configured correctly. Win 8 scares me.
  5. Archone

    Archone IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7,422
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Me too.....
  6. Mislan

    Mislan IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Sounds like Windows 7 is the OS to go for .. thanks for the responses.

    Mislan
  7. OnTopOfItself

    OnTopOfItself IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I play LOD with windows 8 installed with absolutely no problems at all. I have it run in windowed mode using the -w method and as long as it's run in adminstrative mode it runs flawlessly.
  8. Fizoo

    Fizoo IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    124
    For D2 under Windows 7, I went into the shortcut / properties / shortcut. I added -w at the end of the target string. I then went to properties / compatibility and checked the box for "Run the program in compatibility mode for" and set it to Windows XP service pack 3. Then I checked the boxes for run in 256 colors and disable desktop composition.

    The result is when I start up D2, the screen blinks twice as it reconfigures the video. Then D2 starts up and it is blazing fast. I speed thru the menu selections.
  9. Archone

    Archone IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7,422
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Thats what I do, and it works flawlessly.
  10. Mislan

    Mislan IncGamers Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks for the input, everyone.

    I'll go ahead with purchasing the new laptop!

    Mislan

Share This Page