Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    62

    Is AH mandatory?

    Hello everyone,

    Old-school D2 player here. I've missed the original release due to some reasons and now I'm thinking of buying the game. I absolutely don't care about the graphics, it's all about the gameplay.

    The main thing that bothers me is Auction House. Is AH mandatory for progress? I've read a lot of opinions that without AH the progress is impossible and that the very drop system is balanced around players ability to buy things. This is the main turn off for me, because the most favorite thing in D2 for me was gearing myself on the way. AH makes wonders in WoW but I'm afraid of what it could do to Diablo gameplay.

    In general how far is it from D2 in terms of gameplay? Tried Torchlight 2, but it lacks depth for me. The gameplay is very D2-ish, but the rest just lacks substance. I feel like wasting time playing it, because I don't care about the world and the lore. With all due respect to D2 creators that were behind it.

  2. #2
    D3 Monk Moderator kestegs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Colorado
    BattleTag kestegs-1550
    Posts
    47,569

    Re: Is AH mandatory?

    Well, I said this in the other thread, but yes, it's very viable.

    There's also a D3 single player forum here, so if you decide to play you may want to ask some questions there.

  3. #3
    Site Contributor fmulder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,047

    Re: Is AH mandatory?

    AH is certainly NOT mandatory if you are willing to spend a bit of time farming / leveling your chars. I have beaten Inferno with one of each class (SC on mp 0) using only self found items.

  4. #4
    IncGamers Member Malaterre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Nice, France
    BattleTag Gus-2965
    Posts
    219

    Re: Is AH mandatory?

    Same as fmulder, finishing the game in Inferno MP0 is totally feasible, even without farming too much.

    For higher MP values, it seems difficult to get rid of the AH.

  5. #5
    Administrator Elly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 1997
    Location
    Velvet pillow eating bon bons
    BattleTag Elly-1983
    Posts
    4,337

    Re: Is AH mandatory?

    Has anyone gone right to the top without using the AH? I am planning to do it but I am assuming it can be done and perhaps it's just not possible, not without an inordinate amount of farming.
    Elly - Admin,
    Diablo: IncGamers on Twitter on You Tube on Facebook
    DiabloNut.Com (Diablo 3 database) - Blue Post Tracker - Diablo3Ladders.Com

    New to Diablo 3? Read this great primer.



    Your beliefs don't make you a better person, you behaviour does.

  6. #6
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    1,824

    Re: Is AH mandatory?

    Quote Originally Posted by Elly View Post
    Has anyone gone right to the top without using the AH? I am planning to do it but I am assuming it can be done and perhaps it's just not possible, not without an inordinate amount of farming.
    I am poorer than most players. Perhaps 25% of my gear is self found, that's counting crafts. Perhaps if you're willing to devote literally over 9,000 hours you can find everything yourself, but even basic points such as "a Str Skorn with Lifesteal" will elude you forever I'd suspect.

  7. #7
    IncGamers Member Malaterre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Nice, France
    BattleTag Gus-2965
    Posts
    219

    Re: Is AH mandatory?

    Has anyone gone right to the top without using the AH? I am planning to do it but I am assuming it can be done and perhaps it's just not possible, not without an inordinate amount of farming.
    I do not know someone who has done it. All my friends that are playing in higher MP levels used the AH.

  8. #8
    IncGamers Site Pal InteNuIgen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Up north
    BattleTag Majo666-2473
    Posts
    463

    Re: Is AH mandatory?

    I play completely selffound and have roughly 700 hours invested in my wizard.

    http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/profile/M.../hero/18986033

    I can do MP3-MP4 but often stay at MP1 for speed

  9. #9
    Site Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    17

    Re: Is AH mandatory?

    I don't think AH is needed, but it sure does help. Would be interesting iron-born once items are in.

  10. #10
    IncGamers Member FaultyYogurt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    209

    Re: Is AH mandatory?

    While you absolutely can play without using the AH, you can't play in public games. You can't keep up.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •