Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6

    Diablo II LoD taking a while to open

    So what is happening is quite minor but it is beginning to get really frustrating every time I want to open and play D2. Whenever I double click on the desktop icon for some reason it takes about 30-60 seconds for the client to actually open.

    Anyone know something I can do to fix this?

  2. #2
    IncGamers Member Dawnmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    5,818

    Re: Diablo II LoD taking a while to open

    Quote Originally Posted by techneeq View Post
    So what is happening is quite minor but it is beginning to get really frustrating every time I want to open and play D2. Whenever I double click on the desktop icon for some reason it takes about 30-60 seconds for the client to actually open.

    Anyone know something I can do to fix this?
    Let's eliminate some options first:
    - when was the last time you formatted your computer?
    - do you have other programs running in the background? (virus scanner, office prestart, unidentified program, etc...)
    - is your computer old? (not the software, the actual hardware)
    - is something/someone constantly straining your harddrive/internet via a network or other connection?

    That's all I can think off at this moment.

  3. #3
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6

    Re: Diablo II LoD taking a while to open

    - when was the last time you formatted your computer?
    Probably back when I bought it, which was less than 6 months ago

    - do you have other programs running in the background? (virus scanner, office prestart, unidentified program, etc...)
    Tons of programs and millions of Chrome tabs

    - is your computer old? (not the software, the actual hardware)
    As I said before it is less than 6 months old. i7, Radeon 6770, 8 gigs RAM. Pretty geared so most likely not a hardware issue.

    - is something/someone constantly straining your harddrive/internet via a network or other connection?
    No not aware of something/someone constantly straining my hard drive/internet.

    Just right now I tried opening a few other programs and games just to see how long it takes them to open. I opened HoN, Starcraft, and Steam, which all responded and opened in less than 5 seconds so it seems the problem is something with the D2 client.

  4. #4
    IncGamers Member Archone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    8,590

    Re: Diablo II LoD taking a while to open

    Same thing for me! And have been so for almost a year now. But Im doing a full clean of my harddrives this weekend.

    Heres the solution for me, pretty simple. I just double-click the icon a 2nd time. And it starts immediatly.
    A box saying "You cant have 2 windows of D2 up at the same time" or something, pops up.



    Peace

  5. #5
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6

    Re: Diablo II LoD taking a while to open

    Quote Originally Posted by Archone View Post
    Same thing for me! And have been so for almost a year now. But Im doing a full clean of my harddrives this weekend.

    Heres the solution for me, pretty simple. I just double-click the icon a 2nd time. And it starts immediatly.
    A box saying "You cant have 2 windows of D2 up at the same time" or something, pops up.



    Peace
    Kind of a ghetto fix but this definitely works, thank you very much.

  6. #6
    IncGamers Site Pal pharphis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    9,177

    Re: Diablo II LoD taking a while to open

    Quote Originally Posted by Archone View Post
    Same thing for me! And have been so for almost a year now. But Im doing a full clean of my harddrives this weekend.

    Heres the solution for me, pretty simple. I just double-click the icon a 2nd time. And it starts immediatly.
    A box saying "You cant have 2 windows of D2 up at the same time" or something, pops up.



    Peace
    Yup, same here. Occasionally when I do this I manage to open 2 copies simultaneously w/o the computer complaining :/

    This slow start up doesn't always happen, but it happens a lot :(

  7. #7
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    3,668

    Re: Diablo II LoD taking a while to open

    Quote Originally Posted by Archone View Post
    Same thing for me! And have been so for almost a year now. But Im doing a full clean of my harddrives this weekend.

    Heres the solution for me, pretty simple. I just double-click the icon a 2nd time. And it starts immediatly.
    A box saying "You cant have 2 windows of D2 up at the same time" or something, pops up.



    Peace
    Yup. Exactly the same here. Sometimes I wait out the half minute or so checking internet/other stuff.
    It's a problem with windows 7 I think, it used to work fine on my old desktop a year back.

  8. #8

    Re: Diablo II LoD taking a while to open

    Yeah, I have this same issue now, but its only since I switched to a computer with Win 7. It worked immediately on XP. I think it has something to do with it starting in compatability mode and such.
    Quote Originally Posted by Vivi View Post
    Give a man a fire and he's warm for a day. Set him on fire and he's warm for the rest of his life.

  9. #9
    IncGamers Member Archone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    8,590

    Re: Diablo II LoD taking a while to open

    I have win 7 on both my Pc and my Laptop. And this only occurs on my Pc for some reason.. ?

  10. #10
    D3 Monk Moderator kestegs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Colorado
    BattleTag kestegs-1550
    Posts
    47,569

    Re: Diablo II LoD taking a while to open

    Have you tried changing your video card setting by running the video test in the game folder? I noticed this happening when I was messing around with my video settings once.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •