Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast
    BattleTag Ask me!

US Soldiers (Afghanistan) How good are they?

Hi guys!

Does anybody here have any knowledge about the US military? Every time I hear about a fire fight it's something like this "20 talibans were killed and 1 american was injured".

So my question, is there really such a big difference between the quality of military between US and terrorists? Not just looking at the soldier motivation, but the whole picture (weapons, training, equipment, organization etc).

A grossly unprofessional guess, 100 talibans vs 20 US infantry in a city, what would the outcome be?

Re: US Soldiers (Afghanistan) How good are they?

You know, I've been seeing those kind of stories for years, and it blows my mind too. I'm no expert on the military, but to my knowledge, yes, there is just that much of a difference between US forces and the terrorists. There is quite a measurable difference between our military and most other militaries in the world. The terrorists are below even that threshold because they are not an organized fighting force on the scale of a national military, so they are at a massive disadvantage right there. Most do not have the training to even have a chance. That's not to say they aren't dangerous, they are, but it requires a very successful ambush or a great deal of luck for them to not be completely decimated. That's why they resorted to IEDs in Iraq, because they can't put up a toe-to-toe fight with organized, outfitted, well-trained, technologically superior soldiers. Also, terrorists and the Taliban can't exactly call in an air strike.

Jmervyn would be able to get into this much better than I could, but he's usually only around on weekdays. Lately though, he's been waging his own war on technologically inept co-workers.