In case you didn't know this, when you add someone to friends list, you both get to see each others full name.
So be aware of that.
Logging into Battle.net, there's a section under Account -> Settings -> Communication Preferences that looked relevant:
[x] Enable RealID
If you activate Real ID, the real first and last name associated with the account (your real name) will be visible to others. Real ID is independent from BattleTags, so you can be both Real ID and BattleTag friends with someone. For more info, visit our BattleTag and Real ID pages.
*If you disable Real ID, your Real ID friends list will be permanently erased. You will have to add your Real ID friends again if you reactivate Real ID.
Is it known whether this option affects the name shown to other players? (I'm assuming so, but can't be sure.) I've unchecked it on my account so I'm happy to help test it out.
Hey, I just happened to stumble across it by accident while trying to figure out something else through the settings!
Hey thanks Sitro. I thought I had turned that off a while ago, but it never mattered. Now that it does, you reminded me to double check, and it was on. Fixed now though!
Thanks SiTro, I'd have missed that without the insight !
My real ID is disabled and I can see my real name on bnet. That's only me then, right?
I've never had a real name... maybe this will fix that.
I thought it only happens if you add someone using their realid (I.E Email)