Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    IncGamers Member MaStAViC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    BattleTag MastaVic-1694
    Posts
    1,346

    Diablo 1 on Windows 7 64-bit?

    Hello, I hope you are doing well.

    Over the years, my girlfriend and I have been playing Diablo 2 on and off. However, I haven't touched Diablo 1 since the 1990's, and I just found out my girlfriend has never played Diablo 1. (I found that last bit surprising; heck, she's even read some of the Diablo novels!)

    Can we play Diablo 1 together on our Windows 7 64-bit computers (I'm thinking about compatibility mode)? I don't even know where to get the game, as well as the patches. Does Battle.net or some type of multiplayer still work? Consider me a Diablo 1 novice - any information will help.

    I am very surprised this forum is still active. You people are awesome.

    MaStA ViC



    Last edited by MaStAViC; 11-10-2011 at 01:48.

  2. #2
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
    Posts
    12

    Re: Diablo 1 on Windows 7 64-bit?

    Unfortunately Diablo is no longer supported by Blizzard. You can get the patches at: http://us.blizzard.com/support/artic...rticleId=20832 . You can prob torrent it off the internet like: http://thepiratebay.org/torrent/3542319/DIABLO_1 . As for Playing it if you have XP mode it should run fine. More info: http://forums.gamespy.com/support/b49494/20172911/p1/ .



  3. #3
    IncGamers Member Lolzebracakes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    140

    Re: Diablo 1 on Windows 7 64-bit?

    ran into this recently...

    In my anticipation for the D3 release I tried to install this on Win 7 64-bit Home Edition with no luck... The game would install but if you attempted to run the .exe it would just freeze.

    My solution? I made a Win XP Virtual Machine and ran it on that. Graphics can bug out occasionally but it plays man. Unfortunately you have to have Win 7 Pro or Ultimate to use your XP mode. --- Or just so happen to have another OS laying around somewhere (which is what I did.).



  4. #4
    IncGamers Member Brokenstorm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Canada
    BattleTag Brokenstorm-1880
    Posts
    499

    Re: Diablo 1 on Windows 7 64-bit?

    It works fine for me under win7 pro x64
    Just make sure you have the 1.09 patch installed and kill explorer.exe to fix the color bug.




  5. #5
    IncGamers Member MaStAViC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    BattleTag MastaVic-1694
    Posts
    1,346

    Re: Diablo 1 on Windows 7 64-bit?

    Thanks for the replies!

    Killing explorer.exe did the trick perfectly fine. Also, I used GameRanger to set up games because my girlfriend and I could not get into the same game. From my short research, I found out that it's difficult to join the same game if we're on the same connection.




  6. #6
    IncGamers Member Brokenstorm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Canada
    BattleTag Brokenstorm-1880
    Posts
    499

    Re: Diablo 1 on Windows 7 64-bit?

    here is the batch file I use for D1.
    Just save as a .bat in D1 install forder.
    I kills explorer and restarts it when you close the game

    @echo off
    taskkill /f /im explorer.exe
    diablo.exe
    pause
    start explorer.exe
    exit




  7. #7
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1

    Re: Diablo 1 on Windows 7 64-bit?

    If Diablo won't run at all (exception BEX), try turning off DEP (Data Execution Prevention) for the application. I recommend only turning it off for specific applications, as it provides important protection.
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/w...ntion-settings



  8. #8
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3

    Re: Diablo 1 on Windows 7 64-bit?

    If you want to play LAN, I doubt you'll have luck. Battlenet works fine as long as you get the 1.09 patch. PM me to play D1, @ Insevin.



  9. #9
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Québec
    Posts
    48

    Re: Diablo 1 on Windows 7 64-bit?

    Don't know if I should post this, since the question has been answered

    I had the color issue too and killing explorer.exe did not work, I'm running on Win7 64 bits, but I found this on Blizzard's FTP:

    http://ftp.blizzard.com/pub/diablo/ : d109_x64.reg and d109_x86.reg

    Just pick up x64 if 64 bits, and the other one if runnoing 32 bits

    It fixes the color bug, but you can't see other's player icons on B.net chat and some other little graphic bugs (only in chat). In-game, everything's fine.



  10. #10
    IncGamers Member otodude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    15

    Re: Diablo 1 on Windows 7 64-bit?

    Excellent, just the information I needed, the colour bug was driving me crazy !



Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •