Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Page 27 of 32 FirstFirst ... 17232425262728293031 ... LastLast
Results 261 to 270 of 315
  1. #261
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    36

    Re: Will my computer run Diablo 3 Beta?

    So I've been playing the beta with these specs:

    HAF922
    i5-2500K (4.5GHz)
    GTX 460 (MSI Cyclone overclocked)
    8GB G.Skill
    H50 cooling
    2 monitors

    This is an awesome rig, I know it and it's affordable, but for the first time, I've noticed some strain. When I play on Fullscreen (Windowed) and I switch to my second monitor to google something real quick, the game slows down immensely and becomes choppy. My computer doesn't do this for neither WoW, nor SC2. Wondering why D3 doesn't like to be run in the background as I use my second monitor.



  2. #262
    IncGamers Member Diab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    BattleTag Diab-1350
    Posts
    3,823

    Re: Will my computer run Diablo 3 Beta?

    Quote Originally Posted by Alkajak View Post
    So I've been playing the beta with these specs:

    HAF922
    i5-2500K (4.5GHz)
    GTX 460 (MSI Cyclone overclocked)
    8GB G.Skill
    H50 cooling
    2 monitors

    This is an awesome rig, I know it and it's affordable, but for the first time, I've noticed some strain. When I play on Fullscreen (Windowed) and I switch to my second monitor to google something real quick, the game slows down immensely and becomes choppy. My computer doesn't do this for neither WoW, nor SC2. Wondering why D3 doesn't like to be run in the background as I use my second monitor.
    That's actually a setting made in order to reduce the game's strain on your computer while it's in the background. You can change it in the video options. It's called "Max Background FPS" and has a slider. I think it's set to 8fps by default.




  3. #263
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    us
    Posts
    6

    Re: Will my computer run Diablo 3 Beta?

    Do not forget that these specs are for BETA and could change for the full release.



  4. #264
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    4

    Re: Will my computer run Diablo 3 Beta?

    Hi guys.. new here
    So, i still didn't get a beta key so i hope you can help me out.
    I have a Sony VAIO Laptop, with the following specifics:

    AMD Radeon HD 6470m 512 mb dedicated;

    Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2410M CPU @ 2.30 GHz;

    4,00 GB RAM;

    I have done a "Will my PC Run It" scan and it tells me i'm above recommended on everything but the video card. But, i don't know if i can trust that site.

    Using a game that i have installed, which is The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, as a parameter, heres what's going on:

    Playing on Ultra - Varies from 10 to 18 FPS. Pretty ****ty.

    Playing on High - Varies from 15 to 20. Still crap.

    Playing on Medium - Varies from 28 to 35. Playable.

    Playing on Low - Varies from 32 to 38. Okay i guess.

    Please note that these FPS numbers were taken while in the open game world.



    Using another game, Valve's DOTA 2:

    Top Graphics - Varies from 30 to 33. On team fights, however, it goes down to 18.

    Middle Graphics - Fixed on 40, going to 35 on team fights.

    Very Low Graphics - It's fixed on 60.



    Now, with EA's Battlefield 3:

    High Graphics - You don't wanna know.

    Medium Graphics - Varies from 12 to 15.

    Low Graphics - 18. Seriously.






    Now, will i be able to run Diablo III at least on mid settings? Or will i have to run it on low? Or not even run it? :(



    Last edited by nost; 02-04-2012 at 22:26. Reason: Added more tests.

  5. #265
    IncGamers Member Tilitoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    876

    Re: Will my computer run Diablo 3 Beta?

    Low at least, Mid possibly, High : no.

    Edit: Doesn't matter how you score in Skyrim, DoTa or BF3, my speculation is based on the score of the 6470m in Starcraft II.


    Last edited by Tilitoon; 02-04-2012 at 22:32.

  6. #266
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    4

    Re: Will my computer run Diablo 3 Beta?

    Quote Originally Posted by Tilitoon View Post
    Low at least, Mid possibly, High : no.

    Edit: Doesn't matter how you score in Skyrim, DoTa or BF3, my speculation is based on the score of the 6470m in Starcraft II.
    Does the CPU matter on the FPS score? Or just the GPU?



  7. #267
    IncGamers Member Tilitoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    876

    Re: Will my computer run Diablo 3 Beta?

    As long as your CPU desn't bottleneck the GPU, it only has a minor impact on the actual fps in games. If you had a desktop computer, you would be way better off upgrading your video card than your CPU if your goal is to have more fps. In your case, you can't upgrade since you have a laptop... but your CPU is actually not bad. If it would have been coupled with a GT555M, you could probably have played the game @ high.



  8. #268
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    4

    Re: Will my computer run Diablo 3 Beta?

    Quote Originally Posted by Tilitoon View Post
    As long as your CPU desn't bottleneck the GPU, it only has a minor impact on the actual fps in games. If you had a desktop computer, you would be way better off upgrading your video card than your CPU if your goal is to have more fps. In your case, you can't upgrade since you have a laptop... but your CPU is actually not bad. If it would have been coupled with a GT555M, you could probably have played the game @ high.
    i see...
    Would a overclock on this CPU help a bit? Or just useless effort?



  9. #269
    IncGamers Member Tilitoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    876

    Re: Will my computer run Diablo 3 Beta?

    I wouldn't overclock that laptop no. I don't think it's meant to be overclocked, the cooling must be barely what's necessary so if you want to avoid potential problems, you'd better not do it. No matter how high you manage to overclock this CPU, you won't be able to play @ high setting anyway.



  10. #270
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    4

    Re: Will my computer run Diablo 3 Beta?

    Quote Originally Posted by Tilitoon View Post
    I wouldn't overclock that laptop no. I don't think it's meant to be overclocked, the cooling must be barely what's necessary so if you want to avoid potential problems, you'd better not do it. No matter how high you manage to overclock this CPU, you won't be able to play @ high setting anyway.
    On medium, is it possible to play at around 40-50 fps? Or no way? =\



Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •