Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
  1. #11
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    371

    Re: Diablo II won't run on Windows 7: help!

    I went to the blizzard website, found nothing whatsoever about Windows 7. Their Diablo II section hasn't been updates since at least three years ago when Vista was brand new.



  2. #12
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    517

    Re: Diablo II won't run on Windows 7: help!

    ok I got d2 to run in windows 7 64 bits by doing the following:

    1) Navigate to the folder you installed d2 (mine was C: \program files(x86)\Diablo II)
    2) Right click Diablo II.exe
    3) Select "Properties
    4) On the Compatibility tab, select Windows XP Service Pack 3
    5) Also check the box that says "run as administrator" (or something like that)
    6) Repeat the process for Game.exe which is located in the same folder

    After doing that, I managed to run the game fullscreen with screwed up colors (I then used alt-tab to switch back to windows, opened the task manager and killed explorer.exe process; this fixed the color issues). I also managed to run the game in windowed mode with no problems whatsoever.



  3. #13
    IncGamers Member reaperguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    168

    Re: Diablo II won't run on Windows 7: help!

    Wow. I just had to go through the whole install d2 on windows 7 ordeal.

    Freaking stupid for a game I JUST bought. Maybe if I was using an old cd with an old cd key or something...but I rebought the game for $32 and I can't even play it....



  4. #14
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    859

    Re: Diablo II won't run on Windows 7: help!

    It works fine on my windows 7 comp... does the game not install or do you just have problems when you try to run it? What sort of problems do you encounter?



  5. #15
    IncGamers Member reaperguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    168

    Re: Diablo II won't run on Windows 7: help!

    Quote Originally Posted by scollin View Post
    It works fine on my windows 7 comp... does the game not install or do you just have problems when you try to run it? What sort of problems do you encounter?
    I installed it and when I went to run it, it looked like it didn't work, so I did it again. 10 minutes later it runs with screwed up colors.

    I try to log on to Bnet and it says there's a problem....So I went through and ended up reinstalling 3 times trying to fix it.

    After googling this problem, I see that a lot of people have had it and have found ways of getting around and fixing it.

    Now it works fine, except I have to play it in a window, or the colors still won't work. This also has the side effect of not letting me use hotkeys and if my mouse goes out of the window, it lags the game. Not good since I'm playing HC.

    It pisses me off Blizzard would sell something that can't actually be run on new computers. I'm sure this wouldn't take them any time to fix.

    Did you install the game with a cd?



  6. #16
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    32
    Guys this has to be driver related. Both me and my friend installed the game again a few weeks ago on win 7 64bit comps and they both ran fine no worries.

    Try downloading the latest nvidia drivers straight from nvidia rather than whatever windows supplies or from your manufacturer (Asus/dell/...)

    Also like someone suggested, try the glide wrapper, found that to work fine too.

    Gl


    ---
    I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=-37.816452,145.087766



  7. #17
    IncGamers Member hoilori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    378

    Re: Diablo II won't run on Windows 7: help!

    You probably need to update to 1.13 first



  8. #18
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    64

    I'm no help. Lemme help you!

    I'm having a hard time believing that it's W7s fault. In my experience, D2 gets bad lag sometimes on network play, that's about it.
    If anything, I would say it's a video card thing. So yeah, drivers. Git'im. Oh and play the game in windowed mode too. It seems to be alot more stable. (It's always in DirectDraw mode)

    Make a shortcut and make it look like this. (Except it is -w , not -3dfx)

    http://www.garyshood.com/diablo-freq...get-change.png



  9. #19
    IncGamers Member BloZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    693

    Re: Diablo II won't run on Windows 7: help!

    Anyone having the funky colors problem with the game in fullscreen, can you try the fix I suggested in this thread?

    This thread is a few days old but I thought I'd post a solution that helped me. Ideally you should use Direct3D to run the game, as I have never seen rainbow colors from using it. However, if you stick to DirectDraw, you can try this...

    Rainbow colors tend to be caused in old games because Windows 7 has trouble with them when using DirectDraw (I think it has something to do with the color system older games use). Usually, you can create a registry key that will change compatibility settings for DirectDraw, and it can help somewhat. A different key is needed for every game, and sometimes, for every patch.

    You could try putting this text in Notepad and saving it as a .reg file, and then merging the file to the registry. Ideally, you should backup your registry before doing this, in case you wish to reverse the change. Then, look at the results when you go fullscreen. This key will only work with patch 1.13d.

    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\DirectDraw\C ompatibility\Diablo II]
    "Name"="Game.exe"
    "ID"=hex:0e,e6,9d,4e
    "Flags"=hex:00,08,00,00
    In my case, with this fix, I only get rainbow colors at the title screen and they go away as soon as I click a button. They can come back if I alt-tab or if I get a cinematic, but it always goes away after a second or two. I also need to disable desktop composition in Compatibility Tab of Diablo II, but that's only because it takes minutes to load otherwise.

    Can someone try this and tell me if it works for them?



  10. #20
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1

    Re: Diablo II won't run on Windows 7: help!

    Quote Originally Posted by Tumbleweed View Post
    I just bought a brand new laptop which, as all brand new laptops nowadays, has Windows 7. I installed Diablo II and LoD, and it wouldn't run because of compatibility issues. That problem was easily fixable in Vista with the compatibility wizard, but with Windows 7 it didn't work; when set to XP Service Pack 2, it would open but "blink" between the game and the desktop, and when set to Windows 98 it wouldn't launch at all. I tried changing from Direct Draw 3D to 2D, and it wouldn't launch.

    My video card is Nvidia GeForce GT420M.
    SOLUTION:

    I know I'm a little late on this but for the other people coming here with the same problem: This happened to me, I kept trying to open the game but it wouldn't even start. When you download the game, it downloads a video test with it, which is found under your Diablo 2 folder in your "all programs" section in your start menu. Just do that video test and you should be able to play. It worked for me! Good luck!



Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •