Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Page 1 of 77 123451151 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 763
  1. #1
    IncGamers Member Kijya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    5,637

    Adria - Inventory Management System

    Adria
    Inventory Management System
    by JustAPlayer and Kijya



    What is Adria?
    Adria is an item manager and tradelist maker utility program for the Blizzard game Diablo 2. In other words it is designed to ease the creation and maintenance of an ”outgame” database of your ”ingame” items. It also helps you make tradelists for postage on forums.

    Note: This program is specifically made by and for members of the diii.net forums. It is designed to not break the rules of the diii.net boards and to provide members with an as legit as possible program for use on the battle.net (bnet) servers. For single player you will be better advised to use SP specific programs such as ATMA and/or GoMule instead of Adria.



    Who may want it?
    Those who actively trades on forums, or someone who has more then just a handful characters. Basically any bnet diablo 2 player who feels the need to organize their items, for their own sake or for the sake of others.



    Why use it instead of excel/notepad/etc?
    This application does provides you with a database interface similar to that of a media player, where artists, albums and songs have been replaced with accounts, characters and items. The big selling point is however the method of how you populate this database. Optical Character Recognition (OCR) allows the program to read the text from a picture and translate it into the text you would otherwise have to type yourself.

    Another selling point is the easy to use but very customizable tradelist printer.



    Is this legit?
    Yes, at least from my standpoint. From reading the Diablo EULA and the Battle.net TOS I could only find this point that is somewhat relevant:

    [BLUE="Battle.net TOS"]4. Your Use of Battle.net. A. You are entitled to use Battle.net for your own personal use, but you shall not be entitled to
    ...
    (v) use any third-party software to modify Battle.net to change game play, including, but not limited to cheats and/or hacks; [/BLUE]

    1. Adria does not modify battle.net, or Diablo 2 for that matter.
    2. Adria does not change your game play, but rather the things around it. It changes the task of writing down your item information by hand to an automatic process. It provides some information you would otherwise visit Arreat Summit for. Both those tasks don't affect the real game play while you actually ”play”, but they may lower the idle time between playing as your side tasks can be done quicker (assuming you would have done the side tasks anyway).
    3. Adria does not hack the game code, or battle.net. The only communication between Adria and Diable 2 is in the form of a screen capture routine. Adria works with images, not game code, just like any program for recording movies of the game play such as Fraps or Hypercam.



    Is this a scam?
    No … but why would you believe our word for it unless you already trust us? If you're feeling insecure then ask around. I'm sure the other users will know if they've been scammed or not.

    That said this program DOES utilize a keyboard hook. Adria uses this hook to allow the user to activate its functions without having Adria in focus. Think of it as how a media player gets to use the media keys of most modern keyboards, "next track" just happens to be "scan item" or "add character" in this case.



    Is this safe to use here?
    This program was specifically designed for these forums, meaning that it must abide to its rules. It doesn't interact with the Diablo 2 game code in any way, and the source code has been inspected by the Admins of diii.net before release.

    Still, you must understand that this is an evolving project. We cannot ask for the source code to be looked over at each and every update, unless we make the updates very few in number.



    So where can I get this?
    The program is avialable for download on google-code, which also provides a wiki and a page for you to submit errors.

    Google-Code: http://code.google.com/p/adriad2/
    Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/user/AdriaDiablo2
    Blog: http://diablo.incgamers.com/forums/blog.php?u=147450
    IRC Chat: [server:]
    irc.dcloneirc.net:6667 [channel:] #Adria
    You can connect either with your favorite irc client or using a web client.



    Video Guides
    This section will contain links to video clips showing how to perform most actions, both advanced and basic. It's still under construction, but once complete it should hopefully offer enough guidance to get you started on how to use adria.

    Installation(WinXP)
    Add/Edit Accounts and Characters
    Using Multiscan
    Main Interface Manipulation

    Feel free to ask for specific guides if there's something you feel in need of clarification. Just be sure to be *specific* when asking, we're aiming to keep these videos short and not make them cover more then one topic each.



    Last edited by Kijya; 25-09-2010 at 13:58.

  2. #2
    IncGamers Member JustAPlayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Accouns: *jap.main/second/third
    Posts
    2,169

    Re: Adria - Inventory Management System

    Some words about installation:

    1. Setup will add 2 files to your system32 folder (in case they don't exist already): RICHTX32.OCX and msvbvm60.dll; these files will have to be registered and therefore setup must be executed under a windows account with enough rights to do that (administrator or power user).
    2. Same goes for Codejock controls posted above (administrator or power user).
    3. After installation you can execute Adria under any windows account, so when you chose database folder make sure that the user under which Adria will be run has read/write/delete rights on that folder (better full rights).
    4. Current version is done for English version of D2; it will NOT work ok for other languages.

    Beware: it might take a while to understand how it works (to build the database mostly), but once you get that is pretty easy to use.

    We need feedback about installation as well as for the program work flow.
    We also need someone skilled to remake the icons for the application.

    Graphic designer and testers will be shown in the about box of the application so please subscribe now !


    Last edited by JustAPlayer; 07-08-2009 at 11:57.

  3. #3
    IncGamers Member vdzele's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2,482

    Re: Adria - Inventory Management System

    Does it extract item infos from the characters that are on Bnet or it works only for single player. Is it in form of

    The Spirit Shroud
    Ghost Armor
    Defense: 279 (Base Defense: 111-126)
    Required Level: 29
    Required Strength: 43
    Durability: 24
    +120% Enhanced Defense
    +1 To All Skills
    30% Faster Cast Rate
    Magic Damage Reduced By 9-13 (varies)
    All Resistances +20-35 (varies)

    Does it convert infos into word or notepad. List of items on one character?




  4. #4
    IncGamers Member Kijya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    5,637

    Re: Adria - Inventory Management System

    It works on bnet (since it uses OCR, which means that it uses screenshots of the d2 window to extract information by looking at the RGB values of the pixels).

    The information is saved in a database format used by adria in the form of a number of txt files.

    It will be clearer once I get up some screenshots.




  5. #5
    IncGamers Member skyjuice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Moving on to DnD Online, Khyber!
    Posts
    2,035

    Re: Adria - Inventory Management System

    This looks like a fantastic utility for inventory upkeep, most importantly for MP tradelists.

    :O

    /me auto subscribes thread.




  6. #6
    Europe Trade Moderator krischan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Hamburg, Germany
    Posts
    33,209

    Re: Adria - Inventory Management System

    That sounds awesome, I will definitely try that at the weekend ! No more typing endless lists which quickly become obsolete and a waste of time in retrospect ...

    *subscribes*



    D3 Trading Forums: Europe - America
    Diablo Wiki / Arreat Summit / ATMA / Forum Rules / Adria
    You know I'm born to lose / and gambling is for fools / but that's the way I like it, baby / I don't want to live forever!

  7. #7
    IncGamers Member JustAPlayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Accouns: *jap.main/second/third
    Posts
    2,169

    Re: Adria - Inventory Management System

    Do you guys think that an IRC channel would be helpful?
    For help on usage mostly I guess ...



  8. #8
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Croatia *Dekor
    Posts
    104

    Re: Adria - Inventory Management System

    Very nice work!
    Where/when can we post questions, bug reports...?



  9. #9
    IncGamers Member Noammr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Spaaaaaaaaaaaace
    Posts
    1,988

    Re: Adria - Inventory Management System

    Brilliant work guys! I am truly blown away by this program . After a couple of false starts (took a while to get used to the controls) I've just finished listing my first character, and man am I impressed by the result!

    On a side note, it seems adria can lock onto the D2 window's preview on the taskbar - no idea why it did that (since the program worked properly at first) but it wouldn't recognize the correct window until I disable the window preview option and restarted.
    Also as feedback, the program allow the use of dots (.) in account names - not a biggie at all but I assume you'd like to hear feedback .

    Again, HUGE kudos to the two of you who made this - thanks for the time and effort spent to make this awesome program. You have my undying gratitude as a huge pack rat who frequently misplaces items on mules!

    Edit ; After fiddling around with the program some more I have to add - the 'info' tab and the 'see available runewords' option on items were both strokes of brilliance, amazing job guys.


    Last edited by Noammr; 07-08-2009 at 21:14.

  10. #10
    IncGamers Member Kijya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    5,637

    Re: Adria - Inventory Management System

    Quote Originally Posted by Dekor View Post
    Very nice work!
    Where/when can we post questions, bug reports...?
    Thanks, the questions and bug reports can be posted here in this thread.

    Quote Originally Posted by Noammr View Post
    Brilliant work guys! I am truly blown away by this program . After a couple of false starts (took a while to get used to the controls) I've just finished listing my first character, and man am I impressed by the result!
    Glad you like it.

    On a side note, it seems adria can lock onto the D2 window's preview on the taskbar - no idea why it did that (since the program worked properly at first) but it wouldn't recognize the correct window until I disable the window preview option and restarted.
    Fairly certain that it would be possible to fix that, but can't say it's a priority at this point of the development. Hope you can live without that preview for a while.

    Also as feedback, the program allow the use of dots (.) in account names - not a biggie at all but I assume you'd like to hear feedback .
    Indeed, thanks for telling us. Not sure if we should allow dots or not. Since the account names are used as the names for txt file names ... can't say I'm a fan of file names with more then one dot (the dot being before the file extension).

    Again, HUGE kudos to the two of you who made this - thanks for the time and effort spent to make this awesome program. You have my undying gratitude as a huge pack rat who frequently misplaces items on mules!

    Edit ; After fiddling around with the program some more I have to add - the 'info' tab and the 'see available runewords' option on items were both strokes of brilliance, amazing job guys.
    Once again, happy to hear you like it

    On a side note, do you like the current structure of the ingame info tab? Too be honest I personally think the one present in version 3.0 was easer to use, though there's a lot more info in the one we've got now in 4.0.




Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •