Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    The Mausoleum.
    Posts
    2,259

    Unhandled Exception: Access Violation (c0000005)

    Hi. I was wondering if anyone can give some feedback or advice on this. It has happened a couple of times, both with my Single Player necro. He is parked in Hell Act 5 Harrogath.

    After completing a MF run with my sorc, I move on to my necro. After loading, I have about 2 seconds before the game freezes, I hear a 'ting' from Windows, and I exit to see this:

    Diablo II Exception
    Unhandled Exception:
    Access Violation (c0000005)

    Like I said, it has happened twice. Both times with my SP Necro, both times only after a couple of seconds after loading when he's in Act 5 Harrogath.

    I have looked at Blizzard's site and found this. But it does not explain why this happens.

    Does anyone have a clue? I have not installed any new applications to my hard-drive, and my system was purchased slightly over a year ago, so it has relatively new drivers and processor, etc. And I have been playing this necro for over half a year with no problem like this, until now.




  2. #2
    IncGamers Member RTB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Dimension of Numbers
    Posts
    5,112
    "Welcome to 1.11(b). With this new upgrade, you get to play the random crash lottery every game."

    Basically, there's rarely an explanation. The error itself means: "I don't know what went wrong so this is being displayed."




  3. #3
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    The Mausoleum.
    Posts
    2,259
    I don't know whether to laugh or cry, but thanks for the response RTB.

    I was just a little worried for my (too many hours invested) Summoner Necro, since both crashes occurred with almost identical circumstances, i.e. both after first completing a run with my sorc, when my necro was in Act 5 Harrogath, and about 2-3 seconds just after loading.

    But from your response, it sounds as if that this was just coincidence.

    I'll keep my fingers crossed!




  4. #4
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    111
    yea i have the same problem
    i think its because i full-installed the game, cause this bug happens only when cinematics gotta play.
    so yeah ill try to install multiplayer version maybe tonight and tell you more.




  5. #5
    IncGamers Member Jackson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    In a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    6,320
    I get this every now and then, usually when I'm trying to join games.




  6. #6
    IncGamers Member nickedoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    The States
    Posts
    3,743
    I get this every now and then, usually when I'm trying to join games.
    Likewise, or when I try to quickly enter a channel after CTRL + Ving something in.

    You can force yourself to get something similar (if not the same thing) by hitting ESC to close a channel before it fully loads (perhaps only possible on really craptastic connections) and then double clicking a character at your character selection screen.




  7. #7
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    242
    I have it too, but I thought it was just at random, but now I see that it is related to ctrl+c or v. Best to do that not too fast, then I get the error..




  8. #8
    IncGamers Member jakotaco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    jakotaco Empire ~~~~~~ Sweden
    Posts
    3,302
    Quote Originally Posted by LizAngel View Post
    I have it too, but I thought it was just at random, but now I see that it is related to ctrl+c or v. Best to do that not too fast, then I get the error..
    happens all the time, but copypaste seems to cause it rather often ie. when you found this great game "Offer x Need y" where x is greatly overpaying for that y you have on another char and you quickly wants to switch char to join that game...




  9. #9
    IncGamers Member ffejrxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    rip Toader/Bort Minnesota, Eu ScL
    Posts
    7,098
    slow things down alot when playing on bnet, doing stuff fast tends to cause crashes and temp bans




  10. #10
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,162
    It has happened to me only once, but not in relation to joining a game.. I had just TP'ed back to town to revive my merc and fill up my lifebulb due to running into packs of Oblivion Knights + Burning Souls down in the Throne of Destruction. Rather annoying to have to abandon that game, actually :/




Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •