Latest Diablo 3 News
DiabloWiki Updates
Page 1 of 24 1234511 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 236
  1. #1
    IncGamers Member Orphan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    7,412

    Running Two Copies of D2 on one computer

    This is basically a repost of a guide that was lost somewhere along the line.

    Introduction/Summary

    What I'm trying to describe here is how to have two copies of Diablo 2 running on the same computer without the use of any third party programs. This means that this guide will not provide any information on hacked dll files, or loader programs of any sorts.

    To my knowledge, the only way to accomplish this is with the Window's XP feature called "Fast User Switching". Note that as far as I know, Fast User Switching is not available on computers who are part of a network domain, so if you're playing D2 at work or something, then you won't be able to do this (besides, you should be working anyway ).

    We'll get into Fast User Switching soon, but first I'd also like to mention that it's important you have two sets of valid CD-Keys if you wish to do this. When you log onto battle.net, it'll authenticate both the D2 Classic CD-Key and D2 Expansion CD-Key, even if you're playing Diablo II: Lords of Destruction*. The only way to have two copies of Diablo 2 logged onto the same battle.net realm at the same time is if both copies have a unique D2 Classic CD-Key and D2 Expansion CD-Key (totaling 4 CD-Keys).

    *If you do not have the Diablo 2 expansion, then battle.net will only authenticate your Diablo 2 Classic CD-Key, of course.


    Fast User Switching

    First, verify that you have Fast User Switching enabled on your Windows XP machine. You will need to have access to an administrators account in order to do this:

    1. Click Start --> Settings --> Control Panel
    2. Open "User Accounts"
    3. Select "Change the way users log on or off"
    4. Make sure the option "Use Fast User Switching" is ticked.

    While you're there, make up a second user that will be used to run your second copy of Diablo 2.

    Once this is done, you can use the Fast User Switching feature by either
    - Click on "Start" --> "Log Off", and then select "Switch Users"
    - Press the Windows Key + L

    More information on the Fast User Switching feature of WinXP can be found at http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/u...astswitch.mspx


    Installation

    I'm going to assume that no installation of Diablo 2 already exists. My reasoning behind this is that alot of people might not know which CD-Keys they used in their first D2 installation, and therefore might uninstall and re-install it to ensure both have seperate CD-Keys. If you already have one copy of D2 installed and you know which CD-Keys you used, then you just need to start from step 2.

    1. Install Diablo 2 Classic and Expansion using one set of CD-Keys to a folder (eg: c:\games\Diablo II). Make sure to patch the game up to the latest version (at the time of writing this, patch 1.11b)
    2. Rename the Diablo 2 installation directory to a different name (eg: c:\games\Diablo 2).

    --Optional--
    3. Uninstall Diablo 2 using the Add/Remove programs utility in Control Panel. It's been mentioned that you do not need to uninstall the game in order to install the second copy, but as of the time of writing this I have yet to see it confirmed.
    ------------

    4. Install your second copy of Diablo 2 Classic and Expansion (eg: c:\games\Diablo II), making sure to use different CD-Keys than the ones using in the first installation. Patch it up to the latest patch.


    Conclusion

    That's pretty much it. To run both copies, start the game on one computer and then switch to your second user to start the second copy of the game there. Make sure each user profile is using a different D2 installation folder.

    It's important to note that because both accounts will have the same IP Address, you will not be able to sit in the battle.net channels with both games at the same time. If you plan on having them both logged into battle.net at the same time, try to make sure that one copy of D2 is always in a game at any given time.

    Also, it is possible for you to be on the same battle.net account on both D2 copies, but not on the same character. Once a character has logged into a game, battle.net will not let that same character log into another game.




  2. #2
    D3 Off Topic Moderator LorveN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    9,670
    Somehow, I think this should be stickied. People seem to be looking for this every now and then.
    Nice guide.




  3. #3
    D3 Off Topic Moderator Dredd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    7,318
    This is perfect, Orphan. Thank you!




  4. #4
    Europe Trade Moderator krischan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Hamburg, Germany
    Posts
    33,209
    I don't think we need a separate sticky for every topic, but a sticky which contains a thread with links to a collection of issues, just like in the class forums where all the guides for the various builds are in a single sticky.

    This thread definitely belongs in there !



    D3 Trading Forums: Europe - America
    Diablo Wiki / Arreat Summit / ATMA / Forum Rules / Adria
    You know I'm born to lose / and gambling is for fools / but that's the way I like it, baby / I don't want to live forever!

  5. #5
    D3 Off Topic Moderator Dredd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    7,318
    That's the idea. Check the Pal forum. :smiley:




  6. #6
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    27
    how do you install the second game tho...when i insert the install disc, it asks me if i want to play the game, not install it.




  7. #7
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    groton, ct
    Posts
    715
    Quote Originally Posted by Hellsmith
    how do you install the second game tho...when i insert the install disc, it asks me if i want to play the game, not install it.

    After instalation of first copy, rename folder (change from DiabloII to Diablo2). And then install second copy.




  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    166
    Nice guide, easy to follow, I went out and bought a 2nd copy today and did as instructed, just curious if there is a way to speed things up even further.

    At the moment I have to hit the windows key, wait for D2 to minimize down, then Windows + L to change user, then click the diablo tab to maximize up the game, a tad time consuming but still great to be able to rush my own chars.

    In other words is there a way to be able to do a fast user switch from withing D2? as currently I have to minimize down to be able to do it.




  9. #9
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    california
    Posts
    951
    put it in windows.




  10. #10
    IncGamers Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    1,412
    Quote Originally Posted by Creep
    At the moment I have to hit the windows key, wait for D2 to minimize down, then Windows + L to change user, then click the diablo tab to maximize up the game, a tad time consuming but still great to be able to rush my own chars.
    You're playing in Direct 3D mode, I assume. The game minimizes and maximizes a lot faster (10x difference or so) if you switch to DirectDraw (2D).




Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •